• Music by Marc Shaiman
  • Lyrics by Scott Wittman and Shaiman
  • Book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meeham

Directed by Tina McPhearson

  • Musical Director – Judy Mansky
  • Choreographer – Annette Looper


September 6 -22, 2013
The Dayton Playhouse will open its 54th season with the wildly-popular musical Hairspray.Hairspray is a high- spirited musical that takes place in 1962 in Baltimore, Maryland. Teenager, Tracy Turnblad, dreams of dancing on The Corny Collins Show, a local TV dance program. When Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight. She then launches a campaign to integrate the show. The show deals with injustices of parts of American society in the 1960’s. It opened on Broadway in 2002 and won eight Tony Awards out of thirteen nominations and has toured internationally.


Tracy Turnbald Tamar Fishbein
Corny Collins Dean Swann
Edna Turnbald Brian Sharp
Penny Pingleton Tori Kocher
Velma Von Tussle Kelli Locker
Amber Von Tussle Amanda Carter
Link Larkin Ben Douglas
Seaweed Desmond Thomas
Little Inez Amber Butler
Motormouth Maybelle Crystal Williams
Wilbur Jim Lockwood
Prudy Pingleton/Gym Teacher/Prison Guard Marabeth Klejna
Mr. Pinky/Spritzer/Principal/Guard Rod Wood
Gilbert Naman Clark
Stoolie Malcolm DeSean Casey
Cindy/Dynamite Erica Savage
Lorraine/Dynamite Sydney Thomas
Shayna/Dynamite Alyssia Blake
Duane Andre Reese Tomlinson
Lou Ann/Beatnik Chick Alissa Peppo
Tammy/Hooker Paige Combs
Brad Daveed Abrams
Fender Andrew Wood
Brenda Allison Eder
Sketch James Branham
Shelley Melanie Barrett
IQ Zack Conway


Set Designer Chris Newman
Costumes/Wig Designers Steve Burton, Tim Grewe
Stage Manager Steph Lindsley
Set Construction/Props Mistress Melissa Smith
Lighting Design Anita Bachmann